Wranglestone [ARC Review]

BLURB

Winter was the only season every Lake-Lander feared…

In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there’s nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.

Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing a stranger to come ashore and he’s forced to leave the community of Wranglestone. Now he must help rancher Cooper, the boy he’s always watched from afar, herd the Dead from their shores before the lake freezes over.

But as love blossoms, a dark discovery reveals the sanctuary’s secret past. One that forces the pair to question everything they’ve ever known.

An action-packed and thought-provoking debut, for fans of Patrick Ness, Marcus Sedgwick, DREAD NATION and The Walking Dead.

|CW: gore, death, loss of a loved one|

⭐⭐⭐⭐

4 stars

Zombies, survival, gay kids in love, Wranglestone was a mostly fun read.

I haven’t read horror in years, but when I saw the blurb of Wranglestone I was interested and I don’t regret requesting it.

Wranglestone is a beautifully crafted story of survival. Set in post Apocalyptic America where the world has gone dead, the coming of winter signifies more the biting cold and the danger that usually come it with — it means death or the Dead.

I loved the concept and plot. I love stories with zombies, especially when they aren’t exactly what they seem, and I love the angle Wranglestone takes. The Dead or The Restless Ones or Pale Ones are chilling creatures who supposed to be haunting and mindless undead creatures but an unexpected complexity to them and how they come to be changes everything.

I can’t really discuss much about this unexpected twist without completely giving away the plot, and maybe because I don’t read enough horror books, but I was quite shocked at it.

Wranglestone also talks human nature, and translates it to be part of its plot. The selfishness, desperation and manipulation are woven wonderfully into the story and written so well into the fabric.

The plot was great, but the romance between the characters melted my heart…

If there is one thing I’m admittedly a sucker for, its useless gays. Peter and Cooper are Useless Gays ™.

I love how sweet and awkward they were, especially Peter. The romance between Peter and Cooper was one of my favourite things about Wranglestone, and God, they’re so cute!

“Nothin’. I just wanted to say your name is all. Peter.”

I felt like I lost my heart multiple times in the book. When I wasn’t gasping from shock of the events, I was cradling my chest because of these useless gays.

I love how casually queerness exists in this world. I found it wonderful.

The characters added to the story…

Even though Wranglestone is a more plot centred book, it also in some ways centred around the characters as its set in a small community.

I loved how it displayed complexity of community living and people themselves.

I also loved some of characters, the loveable ones, especially Peter. Peter is a sweet, smol, sensitive, cute dolt, and 100% certifiable useless gay. I really loved Cooper too, who’s also a sensitive, sweet, useless (maybe not as such as Pete) gay in his own right. I loved Peter’s dad who was so gentle and supportive of his son. I loved their tender father-son relationship.

Although, it seemed a little too positive for the plot, it was a really nice book…

Wranglestone, in my opinion, seemed a little too postive for a book about a zombie apocalypse in my opinion. Perhaps, its lightness, in my opinion, is part of its charm.

Overall, it was a really nice book. If you like zombies, useless gays and dark secrets, you’d like Wranglestone.

Amazon

Book Depository

Goodreads



|Instagram |Twitter | Goodreads | Tip me on Ko-fi |

7 thoughts on “Wranglestone [ARC Review]

  1. The reason why there’s two pingbacks is because I accidentally said ‘next year’ instead of this year and had to change the slug (after I had already published the post)🤦🏻‍♀️
    But anyway! This book looks really good! I thought I didn’t have it marked as to-read but I do! I’m very interested in that apocalyptic feature in the book.
    Definitely will try to get this book soon 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.